DHIRUBHAI AMBANI INSTITUTE OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY, GANDHINAGAR

MINUTES OF THE THIRTY-SEVENTH MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL

The 37th meeting of the Academic Council was held on 19th January 2024. The following members were present.

- 1. Professor Tathagata Bandyopadhyay, Chairman
- 2. Professor Prabir K Biswas, Member, through VC
- 3. Professor Maniklal Das, Member
- 4. Professor Bhaskar Chaudhury, Member
- 5. Professor Sanjay Srivastava, Member
- 6. Professor Sunitha V., Member
- 7. Professor Yash Vasavada, invitee
- 8. Professor Saurabh Tiwari, invitee
- 9. Siddharth Swaminarayan, Secretary

Leave of absence:

- 1. Professor Ranjan Bose, Member
- 2. Shri Pavitar Singh, Member
- 3. Professor Tapan Misra, Member

The Chairman welcomed all the members and briefed them about the 18th Convocation to be held on 27th January and the Chief Guest of the Convocation.

Agenda Item No. 1

To confirm the minutes of the 36th meeting of the Council held on 11th April 2023

The Council confirmed the minutes of the 35th meeting of the Council with a recommendation to ensure that the observations made by the Council in the matter of approval of the introduction of a new program, BTech in Electronics and VLSI Design, from AY 2023-24, are carried out during the first year of its launch, and make a presentation before the Board of Governors in its next meeting on the current status of the Program after its launch.

Agenda Item No. 2

Consider and recommend to the Board of Governors Programme—wise lists of the students fulfilling graduation requirements for conferment of the Degrees and President's Gold Medals in the forthcoming Convocation.

At the outset, the Executive Registrar briefed the Council on the details of registrations of the graduating students, planning, and preparations for the forthcoming Convocation event and noted the suggestions made by the members on the logistics and smooth proceedings of the event.

The Council verified the details of the program-wise graduating students and details of the students found eligible for the President's Gold Medal and passed a resolution as follows.

Resolved to recommend the Board of Governors that the 65 students of Bachelor of Technology (Honours) in Information and Communication Technology with a Minor in Computational Science; 301 students of Bachelor of Technology in Information and Communication Technology; 10 students of Doctor of Philosophy; 13 students of Master in Design (Communication Design); 44 students of Master of Science (Data Science); 121 students of Master of Science (Information Technology); 4 students of Master of Technology (Communication Systems and Machine Learning); 1 student of Master of Technology (Electronics and Communication); and 51 students of Master of Technology (Information and Communication Technology) who have completed their graduation requirements and whose names appearing in the list placed before the meeting, to be conferred respective Degrees at the Convocation to be held on 27th January 2024.

Also resolved to recommend the Board of Governors to award the President's Gold Medal to the following students in the seven Programmes.

Student Id	Student Name	СРІ	Program
201901162	RATHOD SIDDHARTH VANRAJSINH	9.66	B Tech (ICT)
201901028	KEDAR BHAVYA HASMUKHLAL	9.2	B Tech (Honours) ICT with minor CS
202111032	VINAY SHETH	9.75	M Tech (ICT)
202115008	SRI SAI ADITYA PUSULURI	8.5	M Tech (CS&ML)
202112063	VIVEK JAYESH DOSHI	9.02	M Sc (IT)
202118012	LAKHANI DHAIRYA PURSHOTTAM	8.54	M Sc (DS)
202114011	RAVAL RUSHI DEVENDRABHAI	8.49	M Des (CD)

Agenda Item No. 3

Briefing by Dean-Academic Programme on the Academics

Professor Bhaskar Chaudhury, Dean AP, made a presentation highlighting the existing Programmes offered by the Institute, a summary of admissions granted in AY 2023-24 in the UG, PG, and PhD programs, and discontinuation of MTech in EC (jointly with C R Rao

Advanced Institute of Mathematics (AIMSCS) and also discontinuation of MTech in CS&E offered in collaboration with the IIT Jammu.

Professor Chaudhury briefed the Council in detail on the issues and concerns involved in the above-mentioned two MTech programs in a collaborative manner and the reasons for their discontinuations.

The Council advised checking and informing the collaborators by way of formal communication with the collaborators if this is not done.

Agenda Item No.4

Introducing the Student Research Excellence Award

Professor Yash Vasavada, Dean of Research, presented the background, objectives, eligibility criteria, and process involved in introducing the Award and selecting the awardees from AY 2023-24. The Council appreciated the initiative, approved the scheme, and suggested organizing the award function around the upcoming 18th Convocation event.

Agenda Item No. 5

Ratification of a few academic decisions the Chairman took on behalf of the Council.

The Director briefed on the background and justifications for his following decisions. The Council ratified the same.

- i) Revision in the curriculum of the MSc (IT) Program from AY 2024-25
- ii) Corrigendum in the MSc Agriculture Analytics Program's Semester I total credits from 16 to 14 credits, thereby revising the total credit requirements from 70 to 68.
- iii) Increasing the maximum number of years, from six years to seven years, for the course work and graduation requirements for the part-time PhD scholars.
- iv) An extension of one semester was given to a student, Lakkad Parth (202018047), who was not able to complete his MSc (Data Sciences) in a prescribed (maximum) three-year period.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.